Lifting is more than about lifting kids.

Posted: May 7, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

What got me started on my fitness journey.  I wanted to get that feeling back I had before kids and work took such a toll.  I started working out two years ago but made such little progress it was frustrating.  My trainer said I need to lift weights, but I was one of those girls that thought I’d get bulky.  I remember saying “I don’t want to lift heavy weights, I want to look like a lady”.  I cringe thinking about it now.  After a year of very little results I knew to truly change my body I needed to get into lifting, but I felt awkward in the gym.  No real idea about what I should be doing or how to do it even.  I pushed myself to go.  My mom quote stuck in my head “How do you eat an elephant, one bite at a time” So I took baby steps.  I made myself try one new machine each day, and one free weight exercise. It felt like I was under a microscope for the first few weeks.  Dreaded going.  It was my version of HELL!!! After about 3 weeks it became a routine. I didn’t hate it but it wasn’t my favorite place to be. After 6 months I was still seeing very little progress, by now my boyfriend had taken notice that I was serious and we found the Jim Stoppani 6 wks to Shred program.  I made an appointment on my schedule 6 days a week that I refused to cancel on. I was taking back my body and my life. It became the hour of the day that was all about me, when I could do good things for myself.  I loved the way strength training made me feel and look.  I began to look forward to my gym sessions.  That was where the stress of the day just melted off me.

I am a busy mother of two which add a little more to my plate, but my kids have been amazing during this journey and it has made our meals much more entertaining.  Remember my mom’s saying….with that in mind… for the kids we had to try one new item from the produce section each week, for the first year this worked very well since they hadn’t eaten to many items from there, sadly.  However, that got increasingly more difficult, now we find new recipes that are healthy twisted on old favorites or just new all together.  Their favorite dessert is anything from our Yonanas or our rainbow (made from pieces of fruit from each color slices up and shaped in to a rainbow).  They love the new more active me which I awesome because I do too.

I want to live as an example to my kids and other mothers out there.  No matter how old you are, living a healthy lifestyle will change your life for the better. I have so much more energy and we as a family do so much more.   

I wrote this to share with others that you can be a busy mom but still manage to eat healthy, work out hard, and live a fitter lifestyle. I hope I can help others to get motivated to set and achieve your own goals.

If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you

Leave a comment